Page 1 of 2
Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 10:40
by Lukas
When the end of a layer is set on 'repeat' it would be cool to still be able to draw in the frames if you're outside of the actual frames. It would animating cycles even easier
See attached picture:
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 11:48
by Paul Fierlinger
Just stretch the last frame out to the clip's end as a single instance (I have a plugin with which I can do this in one click of a button)and using the Faux Fix you'll be able to do what you are asking for.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 11:54
by Lukas
Paul Fierlinger wrote:Just stretch the last frame out to the clip's end as a single instance (I have a plugin with which I can do this in one click of a button)and using the Faux Fix you'll be able to do what you are asking for.
Hmmm. But when you draw in a Faux-Fixed frame it also breaks and creates a new instance, or am I doing something wrong?
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 12:14
by Svengali
why would it be cooler to draw after the end frame to modify the first frame rather than just to go back to the first frame and continue modifying the existing frame? I'm not following the advantage here.
Sven
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 12:23
by Lukas
Svengali wrote:why would it be cooler to draw after the end frame to modify the first frame rather than just to go back to the first frame and continue modifying the existing frame?
Simply because you wouldn't need to go back to the first frame
Now I often create a new 'first frame' at the end of a cycle, and copy it over the original first frame of the cycle and fix the inbetweens that became messed up. This way that wouldn't be necessary anymore.
Of course this would also work if you'd draw on frame 34, the instance on frame 5. (In the case of the image I attached in the first post). The Light Table works if you're on those frames, which gives the illusion you can draw there, but if you do, it breaks the cycle.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 12:46
by Svengali
I have to confess I don't really understand, but if you (and the developers) believe that the time saved in not having to go back to the first frame is worth it then I guess that's a feature that needs to be added.
Sven
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 13:00
by Paul Fierlinger
I need to pitch in here and reiterate what Sven says, which is that programming takes a lot of time and making such frivolous demands on the time of the development team is in my opinion inconsiderate not just towards the developers but also towards other users who are waiting in line for much more serious improvements to get to the top of the list.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 13:30
by Elodie
Well, if I am not wrong , if you just need something do draw loop animations, you can use the post and pre behaviors + light table. It should.do the job.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 13:38
by Paul Fierlinger
I think Lukas wants to draw where there is no "paper" to draw on -- in other words in the space after the layer ends.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 13:40
by Lukas
Of course it does the job
I've done many many cycles with the current tools.
But it would be even easier with the behaviour I suggested
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 13:54
by Elodie
I dont think so. As Paul en svengali said, it would be long to develop to win what ? A quarter of second ? The time developers would spend on it wouldn't worth it.
Imo, it would really disturbing for newcomers.
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 14:14
by Lukas
Here's a movie showing the current behaviour. Honestly I don't see how my suggestion won't be usefull to anyone if you see what happens in the video. Especially with the Light table on, you'd just expect to be able to animate there.
I'm not the one to judge how much time anything is worth to code. Just requesting this because I think it would improve TVP, that's all.
[qt]640,480,
http://www.lukaskrepel.nl/temp/TVP/cycle.mov[/qt]
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 15:36
by Svengali
I can sort of see what you are talking about now. And I understand your argument and why you make it.
Frankly, you are drawing in an area (beyond the last frame) that I just don't see and haven't seen for several years now. Why?
Because I've written a little script for the left and right arrows which simply loops me at the extremes of the current layer. If I get to the last frame and I press next frame (right arrow) again, it takes me to the first frame.
If I am jumping back and reach the first frame and press previous frame (left arrow) it takes me to the last frame. So, I've never had to deal with being in no man's land or seeing the ghost light-table frames...
Here's the simple code that does that. Actually I use a slightly more sophisticated pair of scripts that keep me on head frames and which does a number of other, conditional things as well.
One additional tip which you may or may not have run across before. If you also set the start of your layer to Repeat, the light table images wrap as well. So, at the final frame, you can see the first, second, third frame as well and the first frame lets you see back into the last few frames of the layer - helpful for drawing effective looping sequences.
Sven
Code: Select all
tv_LayerCurrentID
parse result LayerNumber // Identify current layer
tv_LayerInfo LayerNumber
parse result d d d d LayerType LayerStart LayerEnd d d d // Get Type, Start and End info for current layer
// assign this script section for Next Frame ONLY
tv_LayerGetImage
parse result ThisFrame // BEFORE advancing cursor to next Head-frame test cursor-frame status
IF ThisFrame == LayerEnd || ThisFrame < LayerStart // Is cursor on Layer-end or in front of First-frame?
ThisFrame = LayerStart // Wrap or set cursor to Layer-start
tv_LayerImage ThisFrame
EXIT
END
ThisFrame = ThisFrame + 1
IF ThisFrame > LayerEnd // Is cursor beyond Layer-end?
ThisFrame = LayerEnd
END
tv_LayerImage ThisFrame // set cursor to Layer-end
// assign this script section for Previous Frame ONLY
tv_LayerGetImage
parse result ThisFrame // BEFORE advancing cursor to next Head-frame test cursor-frame status
IF ThisFrame == LayerStart || ThisFrame > LayerEnd // Is cursor on LayerStart or past LayerEnd?
ThisFrame = LayerEnd // Wrap or set cursor to Layer-end
tv_LayerImage ThisFrame
EXIT
END
ThisFrame = ThisFrame - 1
IF ThisFrame < LayerStart // Trap if we've moved beyond First-frame of layer
ThisFrame = LayerEnd // Wrap to last frame
END
tv_LayerImage ThisFrame
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 16:04
by Lukas
Very nice script Svengali, I'll be using them instead of the regular arrow keys when animating a cycle!
I still think the feature request would improve TVP though, because that way...
- ...it would also work when navigating the timeline with the mouse
- ...you can always adjust the cycle to the new circumstances when the background is changing over time or when other characters are crossing paths etc.
- ...you wouldn't need two sets of arrow keys (your scripted arrow keys and the non-scripted default arrow keys)
But thanks for sharing your script! Even though it's a workaround, it works great!
Re: Draw on repeated frames
Posted: 10 May 2013, 16:17
by Svengali
What ever works for you my friend. If they change the way things work I don't think my scripts will be affected, so good luck to you.
Sven