rotoscope critique/aesthetics

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
mikepflaumart

rotoscope critique/aesthetics

Post by mikepflaumart »

What is the your general impression of rotoscoping? I have used Mirage to work with this technique because I am a fine artist painter but love the end result of the painterly look. I have seen the recent films on the big screen using that technique but wanted a classically trained animators' opinion of it. I have been working on a short spot that I created for a client a couple of years ago that I thought would make a great hand drawn/painterly look...a sort of moving painting.
Last edited by mikepflaumart on 24 May 2008, 03:26, edited 1 time in total.
idragosani

Re: rotoscope critique/aesthetics

Post by idragosani »

Rotoscoping... the neverending controversy.

I think, like all animation techniques, it has its place and can be used effectively. The modern equivalent to rotoscoping is 'motion capture', which also has its place in in visual effects. Ralph Bakshi, who was heavily criticized for his use of rotoscoping in The Lord of the Rings, has commented that he made the choice to rotoscope for financial and time constraint reasons -- it was such a big movie that it would have taken a decade to animate by hand (as his earlier films were, although Wizards had some crude rotoscoping). Bakshi also points out that Peter Jackson used motion capture extensively in his version of the Tolkien books.

However, rotoscoping just for the sake of doing it (or motion capture), I think limits creativity and artistic expression. Like with the recent Beowulf movie -- why did it need to be motion-capured CG? There have been epic medieval movies made entirely without CG, so any claims of saving time and money would fall flat.