cheaper alternative for Cintiq?

Please use this part to report bugs & errors, ask questions & "How to..."
Boomslang

cheaper alternative for Cintiq?

Post by Boomslang »

Hello there,
I have a Wacom tablet, but it proves quite exhausting to animate with a wacom in Tvpaint for me. The feel you have with paper would fit me better, so I'm considering to save money for a Cintiq. However this will take a lot of time, since I'm a student (=not so rich).
Anyway, I saw this laptop in an advertizement, the HP Pavilion tx1020ea,
which has a screen you can turn around and a pen with it so you can use it as a sketching device.

I was wondering if anyone here has some experience with running TVpaint with this sort of laptop, and if it comes anywhere near the sensitivity Wacom has?
It would be one heck of a lot cheaper than a Cintiq.

D.T. Nethery

Post by D.T. Nethery »

I don't know about the HP Pavilion tx1020ea, so I'll leave it to our resident tablet PC users to speak up .

I did look up the HP Pavilion tx1020ea tablet PC and found it listed mostly on sites in the UK , so I'm assuming you're in the UK or somewhere in Europe?

The HP Pavilion tx1020ea lists for £799 which is equivalent to about 1,142.39 Euros (or $1,639.78 U.S. dollars)

Price for Cintiq 21UX on the European Wacom web store is
2,979,90 Euros = £ 2,084,1731 UK

BUT ...

The new 12wx Cintiq will list for £ 829.99 which is 1,186.69 Euros (or about $1,703.38 U.S. dollars) , so you might want to consider the new Cintiq. Cintiq 12wx is about the same size screen as the HP Pavilion and will cost you £ 30 or 44 Euros more for the Cintiq 12wx . Of course, it's the tablet only, not a whole computer and operating system, but if you already own a computer capable of running the Cintiq then it might be worth considering:

http://www.wacom.eu/index2.asp?lang=en& ... =en&pid=96

http://www.engadget.com/2007/10/22/waco ... t-display/

Animator, TVPaint Beta-Tester, Animation Educator and Consultant.